To download the files below without opening them in your browser, click on the link with the Right Mouse Btn and select 'Save Link As...' or 'Save Target As...', depending on your browser.

Word Document RBACupRules2005.doc (40 KB)
The RBA Cup Rules 2005/2006...

Word Document RBACupDraw2005.doc (46 KB)
How the RBA Cup has been drawn for the 2005/2006 season and when matches need to be played...

Cup Scoresheet

Word Document RBACupScorecard.doc (32 KB)
An (Unofficial) Cup Scoresheet...

For a scanned copy of the actual RBA Scorecard, see the [Scorecards Page].

The RBA Cup is a handicapped knock out competition, played annually for the Griffiths Cup. A team consists of eight players, 4 men and 4 women.

A total of eight rubbers are played. Two mens doubles, two ladies doubles and four mixed doubles, played in the following order:

  1. 1st Mens Doubles
  2. 1st Ladies Doubles
  3. 2nd Mens Doubles
  4. 2nd Ladies Doubles
  5. 1st Mixed Doubles
  6. 2nd Mixed Doubles
  7. 3rd Mixed Doubles
  8. 4th Mixed Doubles

Each rubber consists of two games to 15, no setting. The home team always starts -2 down in each game, except where two teams sharing the same hall are drawn against each other and the match is played at that venue, then both teams start at 0 in every game. Any negative score at the end is rounded to 0.

The home team is the team that appears first in the issued table of teams at the start of the competition. All the costs of the match, court and shuttles, are shared equally between both home and away teams.

It's all about the points. The rubbers aren't actually recorded. The score is adjusted at the end according to the handicaps that have been given.

(Information correct for the 2005/2006 season.)

For reports of Cup matches, check out the [Reports] page, or the list below: